50 states Red States Site Home Blue States

State Home State Bird State Flower State Seal State Map State Flag State Quarter State Sites


The 27th state in the USA, admitted on March 3, 1845.

Florida, the Sunshine State, is an isthmus in the South Eastern corner of the 50 States. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the East and the Gulf of Mexico to the West. It is a surprisingly diverse state, consisting of small plains, light forests, scenic beaches, swamps and river lands. The Spanish explorer Ponce de Leon, discovered the area in 1513 and, taken by the spring vegetation, dubbed it Florida or, "flowery land" in his native language. The Spanish colony of St. Augustine, established in 1564, remains the longest standing European settlement in the United States. In 1819, Spain ceded the area of Florida to the United States. It continued to be primarily agricultural until the 1950's. In current times the State of Florida had found itself a tourist destination. With popular beaches on both coasts, the diverse verdant views of the everglades, and the wonders of Orlando and Disney's Magic Kingdom, the State offers much for tourists of all shapes and sizes. In fact, it owes to majority of its current prosperity to "snowbirds" or tourists from northern states.

Some facts about Florida:

State Abbreviation: FL
Population: 18,801,310
Area: 65,755 square miles
State Nickname: The Sunshine State
State Motto: In God We Trust
State Capital: Tallahassee
Largest City: Jacksonville
Official Web Site: http://www.myflorida.com/


Valid CSS!